facebook twitter

    As usual, the Amsoil V8 Thunder Stocks drew a large and competitive field of cars, and wasted no time in bringing the fans to their feet.  The race featured three complete restarts, the third of which resulted after a violent barrel roll down the backstretch by Jessie Corbitt.  Corbitt's car was launched into the air and flipped at least twice before smashing down onto the backstretch wall and ending up right side up on the track.  Courtney Eubanks found herself in harm's way as Corbitt flipped, and Corbitt's car smashed down onto the hood of her car.  Neither driver was hurt in the incident, and the crowd was thrilled to see Jessie Corbitt walk away from such a violent crash that almost totally destroyed his race car.

    Jason Gamble would eventually take control of the race and run away from all challengers to win, followed by Chris Fontaine for second.  Harold Erickson would settle fro third after starting from the pole, while Augie Burtram and Luke Sadler rounded out the top five.

    Tony LaPorta has run very well no matter what track he chooses to race on, and Ocala is no exception.  With masterful drivers like Shane Williams helping him get his car properly set up for race night, it is no wonder that he is hard to beat!  And LaPorta did it again, taking another convincing win at Ocala.  Cory Howard came on strong in the end to grab the second spot, while Paul Hahn hung in there for third.  Mike Lane and Brad Dover also wrapped up top five finishes.

    Bubba Christian has been making waves in the Hobby Stock division at Ocala and at other tracks, but this night out he accidentally got a little over zealous and ended up with a bent race car.  As the green flew it was Bubba who seemed to be the man to beat, quickly making easy game of the cars in front of him and challenging for the lead. But a passing attempt sent him wide in turn 4, and that resulted in hard contact with the front stretch wall, and Bubba ended up in the pits.

    Bubba's uncle Grady Christian stepped up his game and took the lead, only to lose it to David Kinsey after a side by side battle that lasted for several laps on the track.  Christian made every attempt to regain what he lost, but finally tried too hard and spun in turn 2.  That opened the door for James Powell and Michael Tovett, who wound up finishing in second and third places behind Kinsey.  Heath Walker claimed the fourth spot while Mike Eubanks rallied for a fifth place finish.

    Next week, Friday the 24th of April, marks the return of the Open Wheel Modifieds and the annual $1500 to win Spring Sizzler at Ocala Speedway.  Joining the mods will be the Amsoil V8 Thunder Stocks, the Mini Stocks, and the Gladiators.

    Ocala Speedway Results for 4/17/09

    Late Model

    1- 07 Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
    2- 17SS Shan Smith
    3- 26 Adam Beebenbaugh
    4- 33 Jeff Mathews
    5- 00 Billy Costello
    6- 0W Shane Williams
    7- 9 Jimmy Waldrop
    8- 5K Ryan Mitchell
    9- J17 Joe Kump
    10- 16 Wayne Shugart
    11- 42 Marshall Austin Jr.
    12- 66 Mike Bresnahan
    13- 115 Roger Crouse
    14- 2 Chris Waldrop
    15- Z Tim Zackery
    16- 51 Bobby Clark
    17- RP1 William "Bug" Rose
    18- 35 Christian Augspuirger
    19- 53 John Rankin
    20- 0 Rich Pratt
    21- 72P Len Parrish
    22- 00D Shaun Daugharty
    23- 24 Dennis Williams
    DNS- 17 Richard Ferry

    V8 Thunder Stock

    1- 17 Jason Gamble
    2- 47 Chris Fontaine
    3- 66 Harold Erickson
    4- 44X Augie Burtram
    5- 15 Luke Sadler
    6- 44 Todd Roberts
    7- 35 David Walls
    8- 11 Edward England
    9- 7H Charles Howard Jr.
    10- 5W Vaughn Woodall
    11- 30 Robin Martin
    12- 40J Danny James II
    13- 13 James Edwards
    14- 72 Terry Dunbar
    15- 28 Glenn Vincent
    16- 3D Jessie Corbitt
    17- 81 Courtney Eubanks
    18- 71 Jackson Nay
    DNS- 07 Ryan Lisak


    1- 3T Tony LaPorta
    2- 4H Cory Howard
    3- 78 Paul Hahn
    4- 911 Mike Lane
    5- 63 Brad Dover
    6- 69 Eddie Lentz
    7- 23 Austin Gamble
    DNS- 12 Jim Bergfeld

    Hobby Stock

    1- XX David Kinsey
    2- 58 James Powell
    3- 4B Michael Tovett
    4- 55 Heath Walker
    5- 18E Mike Eubanks
    6- 83 Joe Boyd
    7- 89 Trey Cameron
    8- 36 Grady Christian
    9- 81 Donald Woosley
    10- 08 William Edwards
    11- 04 Bubba Christian
    12- 23 Glenn Baum
    13- 7 John Shelnut

    NEXT WEEK: $1500 to win Open Wheel Modified Spring Sizzler!


    April 04, 2017

    Tony Stewart claims Bubba Raceway Park in USCS Spring Speed Explosion finale

    by BRP Media
    Ocala, FLORIDA – April 1, 2017 – Tony Stewart raced to career-first United Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour presented by K&N Filters main event win at Bubba Raceway Park in the USCS Spring Speed Xplosion finale at Bubba Raceway Park on Saturday… read more
    April 01, 2017

    Tyler Clem streaks to USCS Outlaw Thunder win at Bubba’s

    by BRP Media
    Engler Machine and Tool First Heat – (8 Laps) 1. 67-Brian Thomas[1] ; 2. 82-Matt Kurtz[3] ; 3. 10-Terry Gray[4] ; 4. 10M-Morgan Turpen[6] ; 5. 6s-Robbie Smith[8] ; 6. 21b-Brandon McLain[2] ; 7. 38-Tony Agin[5] ; 8. 22-Shawn Murray[7]. Brown and… read more
    March 23, 2017

    No Tires Soaking or Chemically Treated Tires allowed at BRP

    by Lisa Mamph
    WARNING TIRE SOAKERS Of ALL CLASSES BRP AND YOUR FELLOW RACERS will now have the ability to protest any of the 4 tires or replacement tires you raced during your 1st 2nd or 3rd place finish in any race or qualifying event. Bubba Clem/Tom Bean… read more
    February 02, 2017

    Arctic Cat All Stars welcome 17 travelers to the road full-time in 2017

    by BRP Media
    (Photo credit: Vince Vellella, Dan McFarland, Patrick Miller, Justin Brester and ILP, and Killer Mile Motorsports) Action begins with competition at Bubba Raceway Park on February 9 www.allstarsprint.com INDIANAPOLIS, IN (February 2, 2017) - The… read more
    December 04, 2016


    by BRP Media
    Ocala, FL – Bubba Raceway Park and NeSmith Racing Officials are pleased to release the 2017 Bubba Army Winter Nationals schedule that will take place January 25th-28that the egg-shaped oval in Ocala, Florida. The weekend will see three events that… read more
    November 09, 2016

    Results 11.5.16

    by Lisa Mamph
    Hobby Stock - Feature Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points 1 5 64 Trevor Gamble Deleon Springs, Fl 50.00 2 2 28E Brandon Elwood Anthony , Fl 48.00 3 4 57 Justin Durbin Candler , Fl 46.00 4 3 37 Tyler Sistrunk Lake City, Fl 44.00 5 6 38 David… read more
    October 30, 2016

    Results 10.29.16

    by Lisa Mamph
    Eagle Jet Top Gun Sprint Cars - Feature Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points 1 1 3A A.j. Maddox Brandon , Fl 0.00 2 2 82 Matt Kurtz Jacksonville Beach, Fl 0.00 3 9 3 Dennis Misuraca Sanford , Fl 0.00 4 5 19 Keith Butler , Fl 0.00 5 6 20 Frank… read more
    October 18, 2016

    Results 10.15.16

    by Lisa Mamph
    V-8 Thunderstock - Feature Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points 1 5 33D Jason Gamble Ocala , Fl 50.00 2 3 5 James "jimbo" Warden Lowell , Fl 48.00 3 8 81P David "buddy" Pope , Fl 46.00 4 11 18D Mike Eubanks Ocala , Fl 44.00 5 22 19B Brad Nixon… read more